A Change is a Good as a Holiday…

I’m over in Melbourne this week at our national conference OZRI… I spent a lot of time working over here in the logistics field in the later 1990’s / early 2000’s and a lot has changed.  I had a great dinner with an old friend in a high-rise apartment in downtown Melbourne that did not exist when I was back here some 10 plus years ago… this city has changed.

I spent about 2 years overseas in the late 1990’s with my (now) wife – much of it was in Europe and coming back to Australia Melbourne has always reminded me most of a European city of all the cities in OZ – even if it is younger than Perth – the earlier gold rush helped advance and develop the city to a vibrant and attractive city.  Much has changed in 10 or so years – but it is still a very active and vibrant city.

Vision of Perth in 2050?

Melbourne in 2011 is about the population that we expect Perth to be in 2050 (or maybe a bit larger – just over 4 million)…

Possibly this is the future shape fo Perth.  Standing up on the 46th floor of my friend’s apartment I could see Melbourne stretching out across the horizon in all directions… a big city with some growing pains (not as much as say Sydney!).

I’ll try and post some observations of my time down here in Melbourne later in the week – but hopefully it will provide some perspective to the issues and problems that the east coast is facing.

More soon.

Cheers

Tom.

This entry was posted in General, State Planning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

