Applying GeoDesign to Planning

I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to present at the WA Surveying and Spatial Information Conference (WASSIC 2011) this week.

I decided to present on the concept of GeoDesign (that I have talked about before) and how it could apply within WA especially from a collaborative planning perspective.  It was a good opportunity to present how the industry and the technology that I work with can be used in an alternative way to provide interactive planning options.

The motivation for this came from two different areas:

  1. My recent tour of the Pilbara and seeing the need to coordinate and collaborate in the planning for all aspects of the growth of region – especially in relation to infrastructure and land use planning.
  2. Discussions with colleagues in the industry about the use of GIS in participatory planning.

The challenge is to now identify a few possible WA examples where this might be applied… anyone say ‘Super Towns’?

If you would like to have a look at the presentation I gave you can find it here… and here is some press about it.

I’d like to hear any thoughts or feedback on this if you would like to give it…

Tom

This entry was posted in General, Location Intelligence and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Applying GeoDesign to Planning

  1. Pingback: The Complex World of Planning | My Future State

  2. Pingback: Super Towns Named | My Future State

  3. Pingback: Global Planning Ideas Get Shared – I hope | My Future State

  4. Pingback: Mobility, Transport, and Planning for Perth | My Future State

Leave a Reply

